Key contributors

Charles Godfray

Professor Sir Charles Godfray FRS is Hope Professor at the Department of Zoology, University of Oxford, and a Fellow of Jesus College.  He is also  director of the Oxford Martin Programme on the Future of Food. Charles is a population biologist with broad interests in the environmental sciences and has published in fundamental and applied areas of ecology, evolution and epidemiology. He is also interested in the interplay of science and policy, especially in the areas of the environment and food security.

Charles chaired the Lead Expert Group of the UK Government’s Foresight Project on the Future of Food and Farming (2011) and is currently Chair of Defra’s Science Advisory Council, and a Trustee-Director of Rothamsted Research.

Click to see their submission

Fiona Reynolds

Dame Fiona Reynolds, DBE, became Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge in 2012. She came to the College from the National Trust, of which she had been Director-General between 2001-2012. Before her position with the Trust, she was Director of the Women’s Unit in the Cabinet Office and was previously Director of the Council for the Protection of Rural England (now Campaign to Protect Rural England) and Secretary to the Council for National Parks.

Fiona is a Non-Executive Director of the BBC and the Senior Independent Director of the Executive Board. She is also a Non-Executive Director of Wessex Water. Fiona was appointed CBE for services to the environment and conservation in 1998, and appointed DBE in 2008.

Click to see their submission

Ian Bateman

Professor Ian Bateman is Professor of Environmental Economics and Director of the Land, Environment, Economics and Policy Institute (LEEP) at the University of Exeter. Ian is an environmental economist with a wider array of research interests. These revolve around the issue of ensuring sustainable wellbeing through the integration of natural and social science knowledge within decision making and policy. Particular interests lie in the fields of quantitative analysis, integrated modelling and the valuation of non-market benefits and costs.

Ian was Head of Economics for the UK National Ecosystem Assessment (UK-NEA) and led the economics component of the second phase of the UK-NEA. Ian has been or is advisor or consultant to: Defra, DfT, DoH, NICE, OECD and numerous other bodies. He is also the Chief Editor of the leading international journal Environmental and Resource Economics. He was awarded on OBE in 2013 for services to environmental science and policy and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and the Royal Society of Biology.

Click to see their submission

Pete Smith

Professor Pete Smith is Professor of Soils & Global Change at the University of Aberdeen. His main areas of expertise are in modelling greenhouse gas / carbon mitigation, bioenergy, biological carbon sequestration, global food systems modelling and greenhouse gas removal technologies.

Pete is Science Director of Scotland’s Climate Change Centre of Expertise (, and was Director of Food Systems of the Scottish Food Security Alliance-Crops (, and Theme Leader of the University-wide theme, Environment and Food Security (, until 2015. He is a Fellow of the Society of Biology (FSB; elected 2008), Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (FRSE; elected 2009), a Rothamsted Research Fellow (2010-2015) and Fellow of the Royal Society (London; elected 2017).

Click to see their submission

Ian Hodge

Professor Ian Hodge is Professor of Rural Economy in the Department of Land Economy, University of Cambridge. Ian’s research and teaching is primarily in the areas of rural governance, land and environmental management and agricultural and environmental policy.  His current research is focussing on agri-environment mechanisms, property institutions and neoliberalism, and largescale conservation initiatives.

Ian was Head of the Department of Land Economy between 2002-2011. He has a background in agricultural economics and rural planning and previously worked at the Universities of Newcastle upon Tyne and Queensland before coming to Cambridge in 1983.  He is a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and past President of the Agricultural Economics Society.

Click to see their submission